i*ro*ny

i·ro·ny

an outcome of events contrary to what was, or might have been, expected.

My sister Lisa and I were driving down Majestic Lane in her VW one day, talking about weddings and her boyfriend Chris.

“You know mom and dad have money saved for our weddings,”  she said.

“Ha!”  I replied, “I’m not gettin’ married.  You can have mine.”

She smiled and told me the amount, then we proceeded to discuss her imaginary dress and imaginary locations for her imaginary wedding.

Several years later, when my mom and I were talking about Lisa and her death, my mom said,

“the money we had saved for her wedding was used for her funeral.”

That is one of the saddest things I’ve ever heard.


Leave a Reply

