Sneaky Memory!

I was in the car the other day when a dj came on the radio promoting the Memorial Weekend Music Marathon or some such shit and I was hit with the memory of Lisa and me at the river, in dad’s boat, listening to that year’s marathon, thinking how the weekend just went on and on, feeling the dry enveloping heat.  We hung out with Kim, Jim, John, and Kevin, skied and sunbathed all day, watched movies at night.  My parents weren’t with us and I begged my sister to let me have a beer as we floated in cool river water up to our necks.  Plagued her so much she finally threw a full beer at me, hitting me square in the mouth, and leaving a bruise that looked like a Kool-Aid mustache.

Leave a Reply

