Not Bitter, but Wiser

The following are two posts that were written by my dear friend Riz Shah.

He is a US Army veteran who served for over 23 years. A retired Major, Riz still serves and remains an active advocate for peace and understanding. He is a patriot.

I don’t usually post political stuff, but I think that Riz’s point of view and what he has to say is important, relevant, and should be heard.

riz fourth july

November 23, 2015

by Riz Shah

I find it fascinating that “friends” are unfriending me because I respond to their bigoted posts and fill up their timelines like they do mine. I will not idly stand by and watch Americans turn on each other and move us back to the dark ages of segregation where intolerance and hate was a way of life. I will defend our new American values. I say new, because not to long ago, open racism and segregation was a value in this country, it is no more. If you know me, you know I will listen to any opinion without judgement. If you don’t like to hear my opinion, than you are flawed in your logic and it saddens me. Especially those of you who have traveled the world and should have a worldly perspective. For those standing up for our new American values. I applaud you.

Let’s keep moving forward America!

November 24, 2015

by Riz Shah

“Those that fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.”
Winston Churchill

My family immigrated to the US in the late 70’s.  The first minorities on our street in Chantilly, VA (24 miles from the White House), we were greeted with tires slashed, fences broken, rocks and bullets through our home windows, and crowds of kids backed by adults wanting to beat us up and yelling at us to go back from where we came (with not so nice words; e.g. ‘sandnigger’).  We fought and we still fight to ensure it never happens to anyone else. We have generations of Warriors’ blood flowing through us.  As time went on things got way better. But, we are not bitter, but wiser.  I often tell people not to mistake my friendly demeanor for lack of resolve. For I have lots. I am telling y’all this to give you context and with what lens I’m looking at our current society. There is a dark side to our society but we have to use the light to overshadow it. Rise above what makes it bad with what makes it good. This is the only way to build resilience into our communities. Apply the wisdom of the ages and let it transcend the darkness.

riz--army

Leave a Reply

