Fierce Force

team-sisters-fierce-shirt-fixI was in a really icky mood yesterday morning because it is never easy for me to spread the word and raise funds for the Out of the Darkness Walks and the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

I have to put myself and my story out there in ways that are not comfortable for me.

Then I started reading messages from people who donated for P and me. Their messages lifted me up and helped me find strength to do what I need and want to do–I want to help. ootd-2016-fierce-force

I know I can’t help or save everyone. Just like cancer research (one example) can’t save everyone. But I’m going to help as many people as I can, even if I feel uncomfortable doing it, because I’d rather feel uncomfortable than to know that someone is suffering from depression or feeling suicidal and not getting the help they need, that they deserve, that is available to them.

I suffered from depression for years. I’ve been diagnosed with recurring long-term depression, anxiety, and PTSD. I can tell you from personal experience that depression is a sneaky devil. It clouds your mind, alters your thinking, and draws you into seclusion so it can have you all to itself. It’s mean and it lies. I know the feeling. I hate the feeling.

I’ve been free of depression for a long time, finally got a hold on that particular demon, kicked its ass to the curb. But I remember how it is to have those dark tendrils wrapped around me. It’s wretched. If I had enemies, I would not wish it on them. I would, in fact, wish it away forever, for everyone.

I do the Out of the Darkness walks because I want to help others and raise awareness.  Also, I know the money you help me raise for AFSP funds programs, research, education, and helps survivors of suicide loss.  I am one example of a survivor of suicide loss that Out of the Darkness has helped.

And as always, I do this for my beloved sister, Lisa, who I could neither help nor save.

All donations support the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP).

AFSP uses your donations to:

  • Fund Research for Suicide Prevention
  • Create and Distribute Education Programs
  • Advocate for Public Policy
  • Support Survivors of Suicide Loss

    Thanks to donors like you, AFSP has been able to set a goal to reduce the annual suicide rate 20% by 2025.

    ootd-2016-every-donation-makes-a-difference

You can find info on their website.

ootd-2016-message-nanootd-2016-message-ma-paootd-2016-message-shirleyootd-2016-fierce-force

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

