2017 Out of the Darkness Overnight ~16-18 Miles–I Need Your Support!

On June 17, I will walk over 16 miles through the night in honor of my sister, Lisa Dawn Glascock, in the Out of the Darkness Overnight to benefit the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

 

I hope you will consider supporting my participation in this event. Any contribution will help the work of AFSP.

 

I will be walking as a member of Team Sisters and my personal fundraising goal is $5,000.

I am currently about $500 away from my goal!

I appreciate any support that you give me or my teammates for this worthwhile cause, whether it’s a donation or sharing the link on social media or forwarding the message.

If you would rather donate offline, follow this link . In the Participant Name, please put Angela D. Glascock and Washington, DC for Walk Location. Checks should be made payable to AFSP and are 100% tax deductible.

Thank you for considering this request for your support. If you have any questions about the Out of the Darkness Overnight or AFSP do not hesitate to contact me.

Please share this with anyone who might be interested! Thank you!

Lots of Love and Hugs,

Angela

(Lisa’s Little Sister)

Ten Things I Miss About My Sister

  1. I miss the way, after she ate a slice of cake and only the crumbs were left, she pushed all the remaining crumbs together, mashed them down with the back of her fork then ate the pressed cake.
  2. I miss being secure in that knowledge that she truly had my back, no matter what. She was my person.
  3. I miss our fights. Our fights were always brief, and making up involved proclaiming our undying sister love, hugging, and apologizing unselfconsciously.the glascock sisters watching tv
  4. I miss watching her get ready to go out. The Go Gos, The B-52s, or DEVO would be on the cassette player. At any given moment, she would bust out dancing.
  5. I miss dancing with her.
  6. I miss standing side by side in front of the double sinks in our bathroom, catching each other’s eyes in the mirror then, in silly, sing-songy, high-pitched nasal voices say, “Hi, we’re the Glascock Sisters!” Then go into a comedy routine hilarious to only us.
  7. I miss road trips with her.
  8. I miss creeping each other out, especially when we drove through a dark and wooded section of road, or when we were on our way to LA from Coronado and I was reading Stephen King’s short story “The Moving Finger” to her as she drove.
  9. I was always in her shadow, and I was mostly ok with that.  But when we were with her friends, she treated me like I was the star, the one to be fawned over.
  10.  I miss our secrets.

AFSP Details:

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is at the forefront of research, education and prevention initiatives designed to reduce loss of life from suicide. With more than 40,000 lives lost each year in the U.S. and over one million worldwide, the importance of AFSP’s mission has never been greater, nor our work more urgent.

AFSP makes the most out of every donation.

We keep administrative costs below the 25% industry standard so we can put more toward research, programs, and advocacy.

We meet the standards for good governance as set by the Better Business Bureau and The National Health Council. Charity Navigator, the guide to intelligent giving, awards AFSP four out of four stars.

Your Donations Fight Suicide

The proceeds from the Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk will go to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. AFSP uses the funds to:

  • Fund Research for Suicide Prevention

  • Create and Distribute Education Programs

  • Advocate for Public Policy

  • Support Those Affected by Suicide

If you are in crisis:https://tvlvmcjg4f-flywheel.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/NSPL_Logo.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

