This is Not a Love Scene

412bluxzdwml._sx325_bo1204203200_
This is Not a Love Scene made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me cringe, it made me reminisce, it warmed my heart, and it made me laugh some more.
Maeve Leeson, 18, high school senior, aspiring director, is like no other character I’ve read. She’s spunky, sassy, intelligent, fearless and fearful, hilarious, and so full of love it emanates from her like rays of the sun.
She’s like a lot of other teens in some ways and in others she’s not.
In Chapter One, Maeve misleads readers for a few lines before smacking them the face with her reality.
She’s not shy, she’s confident, and sometimes that makes people uncomfortable. She is a fresh character who often behaves in unexpected ways.
I found myself enthralled with Maeve. In fact, I was enthralled with all of the characters—except Maeve’s lust interest (notice I didn’t write love interest), Cole. I didn’t like him much. Despite my dislike, he is an interesting character. I tried to figure him out, just like Maeve did. Tried to understand his motives, interpret his actions, translate the meaning of his texts and emojis. I went through all those emotions with Maeve. I was drawn right into the story and right into her experience. I huddled over the phone with her, waiting for the text to come. I cast aside the phone with her, tired of anticipation.

SC Megale is an excellent writer. She is honest and wickedly hilarious. She moves the story along, draws you in, and makes you love the characters so much that you want to hang out with them, too. I love her writing. I can’t wait to see more from her.

Leave a comment